Tags

, , , , ,

This is an idea I’ve had in mind for a few weeks, and now I am finally going to take action on it. I would like to start interviewing self-published authors, or those from small presses, here on this blog, and I have an open call for those looking for ways to gain exposure.

Why am I doing this? Mainly because I am getting itchy feet. I have a background in journalism, as well as an MA in the field, so interviewing and telling other people’s stories is practically my nature. Because freelancing was tough for me, I put it aside and got a full time office job that has allowed me to more financially stable with benefits. Great opportunity, but I really miss interviewing people.

I started to wonder what I can do with that need, and decided that since I am a self-published author and have this blog, why not start featuring self-published authors on it? This will be my way of contributing to the self-published and indie community, as we are supposed to support each other.

At the same time, I am a strong supporter for the New Adult category that is gaining momentum in the publishing world. In case you do not know, New Adult books are about characters between the ages of 18 – 26, and are living lives that reflect what happens in that age group – being independent, figuring out your future, having real relationships and real jobs, and all the drama that goes with it. These interviews will be a chance to promote the New Adult – or NA as it is known – to the world.

My goal for now is to simply give exposure to other authors and have potential readers get to know them. Since authors are supposed to not only market their books, but themselves as well, I’d like to provide that chance for them.

So, here is how I will do this:

  • Every Wednesday, I will post a Q&A of a self-published author, preferably in the NA category. I will not have anyone who writes YA – that has enough exposure. I am open to writers who create characters that really don’t have a specific category, but NA will be a preference.
  • Although this blog has a gothic atmosphere, and I write urban fantasy/paranormal, but I am open to other genres. I’m not someone who only reads about vampires and such; I do branch out into other genres when I read for leisure. Right now, I am reading Kushiel’s Chosen by Jacqueline Carey, which is an alternative history/fantasy series, so I wouldn’t mind profiling someone who writes a crime thriller, or a chick lit – but it has to be NA!
  • You must have a book already published, or set to be released at a nearby date. No WIPs, and if your book is to come out next year, I’ll set you aside for a closer date.
  • I will not be reviewing any books as I do not have the time to do so. Apologies!
  • My questions will not be fluff. I won’t ask if you’re a cat or dog person, or a Pepsi or Coke person. I’d like to get to know you as a person and an author.
  • Although interviews are not supposed to be subjective, I’ll talk a topic that you want. Meaning, if you want to talk about the ups and downs of writing your recent book, what you’ve learned while self-publishing, etc., please let me know so I won’t be all over the place with my questions.

So, if you are interested in this, drop me a line at megancashmanbooks [at] gmail [dot] com. I would like to have my first interview up by Wednesday, October 24th and post interviews each Wednesday after that. Please provide links to your website/blog, your social media profiles, and your book(s) so I could get an idea on who you are, and so will everyone else.

Hope to hear from you!

