Tags

, , , , , ,

I was dusting my furniture this afternoon, and when I got to my bookshelf, I started to think about the books resting on them. I thought about how much I enjoyed each one, if I really wanted to see if the authors of those books had any other books out (I have so many to-read books on my other shelf that I am hesitant to add to it), and so on. But when I thought about the books, The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns by Afghan novelist, Khaled Hosseini, I found myself wishing so much that Hosseini would put out another book.

Don’t judge me based on the design of my blog. As I mentioned in my previous post, I do read other genres besides urban fantasy/paranormal. I actually prefer books that take me somewhere else – be it another time in history, another country in the world, another dimension or subculture in our world, or even a country with an alternative history to it. Just take me somewhere different to my world, and have a great story to it.

Click here to buy book on Amazon

Hosseini certainly did that. From the moment I read the first words in each of his books, I was pulled in everything about Afghanistan – its people, its history, its conflicts, its heartbreaks. I really learned a lot about a country that was a big part of news reports for most of the past decade. I also was drawn into the lives of the characters he wrote about – Leila and Mariam, Amir and Hassan. They were so memorable and so real. I felt as though I was standing right in front of them, watching their scenes close-up and feeling everything they were going through. That is the definition of a great author, in my opinion.

That is why I would love it if Hosseini wrote another book. A Thousand Splendid Suns was published several years ago, and that was his last book. I understand Hosseini is now a UNCHR ambassador and works hard for his people these days, which can take up time to writing a new novel. It makes perfect sense, and I’m not disappointed in him. Priorities are priorities.

It is just Afghanistan has changed a lot since the Taliban fell in 2001, and I’m sure there are still some amazing stories that can be thought up that can take place during this period. I’m certain Hosseini can create another set of very real characters while telling the reader about Afghan history and society. His writing style is breathtaking and it really sucks you in – I can’t emphasize that enough. He has both a storytelling gift, and an educating gift – the perfect combination for any writer.

And if and when he ever does publish another book, I will be reserving my copy the minute I hear about – guaranteed!

