Tags

, , , , , , , ,

InsecureWritersSupportGroup

I am taking part in the monthly blog hop, Insecure Writers’ Support Group. Started by Alex J. Cavanaugh, it is meant to do the following:

To share and encourage. Writers can express doubts and concerns without fear of appearing foolish or weak. Those who have been through the fire can offer assistance and guidance. It’s a safe haven for insecure writers of all kinds!

I felt it was a good idea for me to do this. Not only does it give me an excuse to vent my fears the first Wednesday of every month, but it is nice that so many other authors are doing the same.

Entry #2

I really need to shut up and get a life. I keep having doubts over my trilogy and it is starting to get ridiculous. Sure, all writers deal with self doubt, but for me to analyze things to death is absurd.

Sometimes I wonder if I should contact consultants and beta readers, and ask if my story line for my trilogy The End of Eternity is intriguing enough and makes any sense. Of course, that would make me a whiny pain in the ass, and besides, some of those people charge money.

It’s just that while I was writing the first installment, I realize that not everything you think works for a story, will actually be well received. This is probably part of my maturity as an author. You learn to take your ideas and creations seriously and not be flippant about them. After all, they are a reflection of you. Yes, that is the brutal truth. Whether it is a reflection of you as a writer or as a human being in general is up to the individual who reads your work, but storytelling is a craft that cannot be taken casually.  Readers know when someone lazily crafted a novel and feel like they wasted their time with it. No self-respecting writer would want that.

So, how would I know if my idea for my trilogy would actually work? How would I know if I’ll be laughed and scorned by writers and readers alike? Would I ever be taken seriously again or be allowed to write a book again? (NOTE: by allowed, I don’t mean someone will stop me from publishing – what I mean is, would my name and work be so blacklisted as terrible that I could never recover?)

The most I can do is get my work critiqued as much as possible. I already take part in an online critique group that meets twice a month. I’ve joined a local writers group. I was part of a group that was the remnants of last year’s NaNoWriMo, but it conflicted with my schedule. I’m thinking about joining a website called Critique Circle for further help, but I’m a bit unsure of how that site works.

Thing is, I’ve learned the importance of getting as many eyes on your work as possible before you actually publish it. It is also good to find someone who understands what you hope to achieve and is a good beta reader or editor to help guide you. Once you find that relationship, never it let go! That has got to be a match made in heaven.

Anyway, I keep on writing, but I hope someone gives me the proper guidance if I want to continue growing as an author.

