Tags

, , , , , ,

insecurewriterssupportgroup

I am taking part in the monthly blog hop, Insecure Writers’ Support Group. Started by Alex J. Cavanaugh, it is meant to do the following:

To share and encourage. Writers can express doubts and concerns without fear of appearing foolish or weak. Those who have been through the fire can offer assistance and guidance. It’s a safe haven for insecure writers of all kinds!

I felt it was a good idea for me to do this. Not only does it give me an excuse to vent my fears the first Wednesday of every month, but it is nice that so many other authors are doing the same.

Entry #3

Yes, I’m a day late, but better late than never!

I’m probably whining about the same things again, but I find it so difficult to get my follow-up right. I must’ve done the first chapter 20 times already, and it driving me nuts. Yeah, it’s only a draft and no one nails it in the early stages, but holy crap!

We’ve all heard that the first page, or even the first five sentences, have to grab the reader enough for them to continue. Every word has to be engrossing enough to make them read on. If not, you’ve lost a reader.

After that, make the first chapter thorough enough to give the reader an idea of what is in store for the rest of the book. Sure, there would be twists and turns throughout the story, but the main idea belongs in the first chapter. Miss anything important, your book won’t be considered good enough.

And to make it worse, my WIP is the follow-up to my book, which means I have to refresh readers minds a little (but not a lot!) within the first chapter, plus set the stage for what is in stake for the characters now. I want to show that Daniel has gone mad with power (why is he so easy to write?). I want to show Claire has a lot of regret and needs to be given a situation which will allow her to heal and forgive herself. All this in one damn chapter. No wonder why I’m feeling overwhelmed with pressure.

But yes, it’s only a draft and they’re always horrible. Like I mentioned in last month’s entry, I am aiming to have as many eyes on my work as possible. I want a good critique at all times and I appreciate anything said, positive or negative. It’s great to know that something works, and it is also great to know where I can improve or fix.

I just wish I can get past this damn f***in chapter and get on with the rest of my story. I also wish I wasn’t such a perfectionist and so hard on myself so I could write with more ease.

Sigh!

But on a positive note, I’m halfway done with the chapter and I’m satisfied – at last – with what I have. I think with that, I’ll get the other half done more easily now.

