Tags

, , , , , , ,

Today my book, The Dark Proposal, was re-released on Smashwords and Kindle. As I mentioned in a previous post, I was one of those self-published authors guilty of having a book in need of another edit. I did have someone edit my book, but I guess when I re-wrote a few scenes, I sent my novel into the Badly Edited Books category. TheDarkProposal_Final

OK, it wasn’t that bad, but it was embarrassing knowing that my book had such problems. I saw it on reviews, and even friends and family were telling me about the grammar issues and typos. I wanted to avoid being lumped together with other self-published authors whose work brings out everyone’s inner Grammar Nazi. But, that was not the case.

I was looking to find an editor with reasonable rates to re-edit my book, when a fellow writer kindly did it himself. I won’t say his name, lest he gets bombarded with authors asking him to edit their work, which he doesn’t seem to want right now. But I am very grateful that he did this.

Also, I added a couple of short paragraphs in Chapter 13 that were in the first draft. Initially, it was a few long paragraphs where Claire reflects on her previous boyfriends, none of whom can be considered good guys. She notices a pattern in what attracts her to certain guys, which led her to go out with Daniel in the first place. It was a good passage, that takes place while she is out shopping in SoHo the day after she moved in with Daniel. But I eventually took it out when I felt those paragraphs slowed down the story. After I published The Dark Proposal, I decided I should’ve kept it in because it does explain Claire and the kind of guys she dates. So, I shortened those paragraphs to a couple with only a few lines each. Other than that, everything is the same. Oh, I also changed a few words to make Daniel’s interaction with Michel a bit more bromantic than before. I realized I has been too squeamish because guy-on-guy action, even briefly, isn’t as mainstream as female bisexuality. But so what? 🙂

So, behold my improved novel on Kindle and Smashwords. I’ll keep it on sale for 99 cents until June 21st, so you could add this to your summer reading. I hope this works out better this time. And if there still is grammar issues, I think I am going to cry hysterically for various reasons, LOL!

