Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

So the Primetime Emmy nominations will be announce this Thursday, and I have never been so anxious for award nominations since, like, never. As some of you may know, I watch too much TV, mainly because there are so many great shows on now. I’ve heard some say this is the golden age of television, and it just might be. Programs on network TV, basic cable and premium cable are top notch in terms of production, acting and storyline. Like many, I am really hoping that my favorite actors are nominated this year, and I’ll be biting my nails Thursday morning.

Hopeful as I am to see my favorite actors get at least a nomination, I’ve come to realize that there’s a great chance that most of them will not be named Thursday in the acting categories. When I saw this TV.com article, I came to terms that there are far too many TV shows with great acting to fit into small award categories. That article points out that as many as 40 actors or more can be considered worthy of a nomination, but there are only five spots per category. Oh, what agony it must be to sort out all those performances!

I wish the Emmys will do what the Oscars did for the Best Motion Picture – instead of five nominations, make room for ten. This way the recognition expands, because there are some who just need to be acknowledged.

Image via Wikimedia Commons

Image via Wikimedia Commons

The one actress I have in mind to at least – at least! – be nominated, is Tatiana Maslany from the BBC America series Orphan Black. Wow, what a talent! When I first started watching the show, I was only interested in seeing how a science fiction thriller on human cloning and bio-ethics would play out. But as the show went on, I was floored by Maslany’s ability to play a total of seven different characters. All the clones are portrayed by her uniquely, right down to their hand gestures. Even those who only appeared for a few seconds before dying were uniquely done. There were times when I was watching scenes that had either two or three of the clones in them, that I felt the need to remind myself that I was watching one actress, instead of two or three.

So I am truly hoping Maslany gets a least a nomination. I’d love to see her win because of her achievement, but that may not happen. Sure, she’s won a few small critics’ awards, but she’s basically a newcomer on a less-known show on a station that doesn’t get as much attention as the other channels. Unfortunate, but that is how awards work. But honestly, if she does not get nominated, I will write hate mail to everyone in Hollywood! (I’m joking. Really.)

I’ve heard Michelle Fairley, who played Catelyn Stark on Game of Thrones may be recognized for how she chillingly portrayed Catelyn in that infamous episode. That was great acting, and I agree with many how well she embodied the character had losing all hope and will during her last moments. It’s true, and if she’s nominated, she may win because that episode was very controversial, and such attention can garner an award.

Image via Wikimedia Commons

Image via Wikimedia Commons

I would like to see Lana Parrilla from Once Upon A Time finally get a nomination. Not only does she appear to have so much fun playing the evil Queen Regina, but when she plays Regina as a young, kinder woman, we see Parrilla’s full acting range. We also saw last season how Regina struggled to be good while having so much vengeance and anger in her. That’s always worth noting.

I expect Keri Russell to be nominated for The Americans. She won a Golden Globe for Felicity and got an Emmy nod for that, so maybe her reputation could bring her a nomination for this role. Plus, she’s playing a cold, calculating spy dealing with loving her spy partner and choosing between being a mother, and defending the Motherland. But who knows?

As for the male actors, I heard Nikolai Coster-Waldau may be considered for his role as Jamie Lannister on Game of Thrones. That scene where he told the real story on how he slayed the Mad King, and reclaimed himself as Jamie, was powerful and marked a turning point for the character. Before, he was an arrogant, impulsive guy, but after losing his hand, he became more humble, and even broken inside. I’d like to see him be nominated. Peter Dinklage, who plays the well loved Tyrion Lannister, could be nominated again. He won in 2011, and was nominated last year. Hmm, two Lannisters up for an award? I’d like to see that. One Lannister who may not be recognized, was Charles Dance who played the patriarch Tywin Lannister. I’d be surprised if he gets a nod, because he doesn’t have much clout. But I loved his scenes. Tywin Lannister is nasty man who will never get the Father of the Year award, but Dance made his scenes so captivating, I found myself actually liking Tywin’s scenes – but I swear, it was for the actor and not the character!

So, the competition is so fierce and the space is so tight. I may not see anyone I’ve mentioned have their name called out Thursday, but I have to accept that because there are so many great performances on TV now. Maybe the Golden Globes next year will make up for any of my disappoints. Especially if Tatiana Maslany does not get a nomination. I know I will be fuming. There are reasons not to nominate her, but uhm, the award is for acting – not fame, right? Right?!

