Tags

, , ,

Some of you might remember my interview in August with Daniel Bertrand, the boyfriend from hell in my book, “The Dark Proposal”. It was part of the Vampire Lover Blog award, but interviewing a vampire was so fascinating (and nerve wracking), I decided to do another vampire interview. For this round, I’ve chosen Hilde and Michel. For those who have read “The Dark Proposal”, they are both Daniel’s makers, and go along with tormenting Claire. But what remains to be seen is what sort of a relationship they will have with her in the sequel. 

Here they are:

MC: Good day, Hilde and Michel. Thanks for doing this interview at this time. I know vampires can move around in daylight, depending on age, but I didn’t think you would want to hide your vampire ways for this exclusive interview.

M: :shrugs: We always hide ourselves from humans, so this is no big deal.

H: I think it gives a nice effect. Creatures of the night giving an interview while the sun is still up.

MC: Good point. So, let’s begin. Does living as a vampire have the same appeal as prior to being turned (if you’re that type of vampire)? If you had to do it over, would you?

H: Of course. I love the power and freedom that I have. I wouldn’t trade it for anything. If I didn’t agree to be turned, I would be nothing but dust, long forgotten as though I never existed.

M:  Same here. Besides, Hilde was worth joining. She was both enticing and a challenge, or both together.

H: We would have missed out on so much. Who would want to die? Luckily, we are the few to receive this gift.

MC: Where do you come from?

H:  I am Germanic, and came from a small village in Bavaria in the mid-11th century. :grins: I’ll be a millennium old soon!

M: I was born a century and half after her, in what history calls the Duchy of Burgundy.

MC: From what you’ve witnessed yourself, do the history books have it right?

H: No

M: Depends on what school or country, or which author. Some are more accurate than others

MC: Are there other vampires, and if so what role does gender play in vampire society?

M: It is male-dominated because the leaders are five Brothers. But plenty of women have succeeded in being leaders, or Defenders of the Blood as they are known. Hilde was one of them. In fact, one of the Brothers made her because he thought she was thrived as a vampire than as a human.

H: It can get somewhat catty between the women here. But we’ve had more freedom through the centuries than human women. The latter has some catching up to do!

MC: Do you miss food, the sun, or your heartbeat more?

M: Once I was old enough to be out in the sun, I had to admit I missed the light.

H: Probably food. There is little or no taste, although blood never fails to bore us. None of us really need food and it just goes right through our system with little impact.

MC: Vampire physiology must be very different from human physiology – how is human blood digested and processed in the blood system?

H: Like all other nutrients, it goes where it needs to go. So the nutrition from human blood goes to our strong muscles, heightened senses, and parts of our brain which allow us to read thoughts and clear minds.

MC: According to folklore, vampires can’t cross moving water. Does this present problems for you?

M: No, because its not true.

MC: Can you have sex the ‘traditional’ way? Do you have any desire for sex?

(the two look amused and glance at each other)

H: We wouldn’t be here now if sex wasn’t part of the deal.

MC: OK then. What do you think of the recent fashion for vampire books and films? Has it made your life harder or easier?

H: Easier. There are so many wannabes out there willing to let someone drink from them. (sighs) Gullible, foolish humans. I adore them so much.

MC: What was your first feed/kill like?

H: I relished in it! I had my chance at revenge!

M: I was bothered at first, but Hilde helped me accept it as it is.

MC: Should humans tolerate the existence of vampires?

(both hesitate before answering)

H: They should. I mean, we’re not going anywhere.

M: We could probably work something out.

MC: Can you explain more? What do you mean ‘work something out’?

M: Its not really relevant (waves hand). We’re not going anywhere, as Hilde said.

MC: OK then. Well, that concludes our interview. Have a good one, and thank you.

(Hilde and Michel nod and leave office)

Well, there you have it. Hilde and Michel, quite a couple, though their last answer was a bit bizarre. But they’re an interesting twosome.

NOTE: “The Dark Proposal” is on sale for 99 cents until Halloween this Thursday, so get your copy while you can! It can be found on Smashwords and Amazon.

 

 

 

 

 

