Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Before I get started, I just want to announce that for the month of October, “The Dark Proposal” is on sale for 99 cents on both Amazon Kindle and Smashwords. Check out this paranormal thriller for this Halloween season!

Anyway…

One of my favorite posts on this blog was, Can Evil Ever Be Redeemed?, where I looked over famous villainous characters and wondered if there was any hope for them to be redeemed from their evil ways.

Well, I am here today to discuss whether evil can ever be overcome.

Evil, amoral, bad, villainous – whatever word you use, despicable acts leave many both appalled and curious. What makes a person do something harmful, without a care in the world? And how can we get them to realize what they’re doing or done is wrong?

I’m writing this post for two reasons: as I work on my sequel, I find Daniel’s ways to intolerable, and my personal life this year saw a lot of cruel, heartless actions be done towards me. I have asked myself so many times why some people are so ruthless, and is there any hope for them to realize?

To be honest, I think for a lot of people, the answer is no.

I’d like to believe that everyone is born with good hearts. But there are some people out there who seem totally incapable of empathy that I wonder if they were born without a chromosome that allows common empathy towards others. Some would say they had difficult childhoods or weren’t raised properly by their parents. Others would say success has gone to their heads, or deep insecurities and fears make them lash out at the world. That may be so, and if it is, that’s both sad and scary.

However way a person becomes an intolerable, nasty person, it is a question whether their evil ways can be undone. The only way they’ll know they’re that way is by acknowledging so they can change. You can’t force or make someone change. They can only change on their own. And for many, self-awareness is an unknown skill for them.

Which is why I am doubtful that some awful people are capable of undoing their horrible ways.

I am thinking this while I write the sequel to “The Dark Proposal”. The villain in this story, Daniel, is easy to despise because of his heartless actions. But can his evil ways be overcome? That will be tough, considering he’s nearly 700 years old. It will also be tough because….

….OK, I don’t want to give away any spoilers, LOL! But in the not-yet-titled sequel, you learn how Daniel became the way he is a bit more. He’s not just simply evil for the sake of  being evil. He’s like that due to events over the course of the centuries.

But can he overcome his evil ways?

We’ll see….

